## Hudspeth County, Texas

Hudspeth County was wild, untamed country until the Southern Pacific and Texas & Pacific Railroads established in the town of Sierra Blanca, TX in 1881. Even after that, the principal settlements were Sierra Blanca, Fort Hancock and Fort Quitman; the two forts having been established as protection against Indians and other marauders.

In 1917, the vast area of five mountain ranges, and fertile valleys broke off from El Paso County, forming Hudspeth County named after State Senator & US Representative Claude B. Hudspeth. Sierra Blanca, TX was named the County seat. In that same year, the early pioneer farmers began to farm the rich Hudspeth Valley, causing new towns known as, Esperanza, McNary, and Acala, to join with Fort Hancock, TX as the leading farming towns in that area.

In 1948, the discovery of abundant underground water in the northern part of the county and the coming of a new breed of pioneers, resulted in the establishment of Dell City, TX.